PLEASE NOTE: These forums are no longer utilized and are provided as an archive for informational purposes only. All support issues will be handled via email using our support ticket system. For more detailed information on this change, please see this blog post.

Can a cancelled user re-register?

  1. LumpySimon
    Member

    Hello

    I'm setting up a membership site where users pay an annual fee, this then creates a user account with a "Member" role for them. This is all working fine.

    If they then cancel their membership, their account gets downgraded to a Subscriber.

    Is there any way that user can then re-register via the same form (if for example we send out emails to all those lapsed users encouraging them to rejoin)? Or will they be blocked because there is already a user account in their name? If so, is the only option to delete their account on cancellation, rather than downgrade it?

    Posted 10 years ago on Wednesday February 15, 2012 | Permalink
  2. Hi, LumpySimon,

    Yes, the only way is to delete the account upon cancellation. The form throws an error if there is a duplicate email address.

    Posted 10 years ago on Friday February 17, 2012 | Permalink

This topic has been resolved and has been closed to new replies.