So thanks means "yes, we know this is broken" and it will be fixed?
I do believe this is actually a bug - see below...
When a new user and sub-site are created with the user registration add-on, I have the ability to select the user role on both the current site (top level site) and the new site (sub-site).
What happening now is this.
1. On registration - a new user role is created ONLY at the new sub-site level by User Registration and the Stripe subscription is created. No role is created for the current site
Here are my settings for the user registration mapping:
Create Site - Create new site when a user registers.
Site Role - Admministrator
Current Site Role - No role for this site
When I look at this user in WP - he only has one site - the new one. This is perfect.
In the Stripe mapping, I have the following option selected.
User Registration: Update User when subscription is cancelled - Set user to Visitor
(I do not have "update site when subscription is cancelled" checked as I don't want to change anything with the site, only the user)
2. When the user cancels his Stripe subscription. This is where things go wrong...
The user is given a NEW role on the current site. As shown above, in the User Registration mapping, I specifically said that the user should NOT have a role on the current site, only the new site. I certainly don't want him to have one when he cancels!
So now, I'm left with a user who has the wrong role on two sites as opposed to changing his role on the correct site.
After the subscription is cancelled, here's what the user has:
New site: administrator (this is the role that should be changed to visitor)
Current site: visitor (he did not originally have this role as specified the User Registration settings)
When I look at the user in WP, he now has roles on both the current site and the new site - this is wrong.
It seems to me that I should be able to have the same level of control with the user registration add-on when the user cancels as I did on creation - both in the current site and the new site.
Why do the network options settings in the User Registration add-on not carry through - they just seem to get lost?
It seems that when this functionality (to not add the user role to the current site) was added a few months ago, the code was only updated for new user roles registration, but not for modifications to user roles?
Posted 7 years ago on Monday December 31, 2012 | Permalink