PLEASE NOTE: These forums are no longer utilized and are provided as an archive for informational purposes only. All support issues will be handled via email using our support ticket system. For more detailed information on this change, please see this blog post.

Subscription Cancellation

  1. Bizorb
    Member

    I have GF creating user accounts and amending their roles to provide greater access and all of this happens nicely once they have input their payment details (with a recurring payment being setup behind the scenes). I can also see that should PayPal be unable to take payment the IPN will update our site. However, some questions on this:

    1) When the IPN notifies Wordpress what is the default behaviour? Is the user cancelled or perhaps their role demoted? Where is this configured?

    2) If the user wishes to cancel I can accomodate this with a user update form demoting their role. How does PayPal find out about this change so it knows to stop taking payments? Is it handled by the IPN? My understanding is that this is simply one-way. Perhaps this isn't automatic and we will need to manually cancel the recurring payment profile in PayPal?

    Posted 6 years ago on Monday April 15, 2013 | Permalink
  2. 1) When an IPN cancellation notice is sent from PayPal to Gravity Forms, you can configure what Gravity does with the user. That is set on the User Registration feed (visible when you are using the PayPal add-on.) It says "Update user when subscription is cancelled" and you can set the new role there.

    2) The user will need to cancel the recurring billing with PayPal. That is actually how your site finds out about the cancellation in the first place. If you provide a form for your users, you can change their role that way, but they still need to cancel the billing with PayPal.

    Posted 6 years ago on Thursday April 18, 2013 | Permalink
  3. Bizorb
    Member

    I thought something didn't seem right... I have both Paypal Pro and User Registration addons and forms created for both but can't see the setting you describe.

    Can you be more specific, exactly where should it appear and what is the wording? A screen grab would be even more helpful.

    Posted 6 years ago on Thursday April 18, 2013 | Permalink
  4. Bizorb
    Member

    Chris... can I have an update on this please. I do not see the options you mention anywhere.

    Posted 6 years ago on Tuesday April 23, 2013 | Permalink
  5. "If you provide a form for your users, you can change their role that way, but they still need to cancel the billing with PayPal."
    Can you tell me more about this form?

    Posted 6 years ago on Wednesday May 8, 2013 | Permalink